Abstract Details

<< Back to Schedule

9/26/2014  |   10:00 AM - 10:30 AM   |  Idaho

Prevention of primary HCMV infection in pregnancy by hygienic measures: a prospective, observational study in a high risk population

Aim. To assess the efficacy of hygiene counseling in preventing primary infection in HCMV-seronegative pregnant women (PW) at high risk of infection. Methods. A prospective observational study was designed. The study population consisted of Italian PW at high risk of infection for personal/occupational reasons. For the intervention group, HCMV-seronegative PW enrolled at 12 weeks’ gestation (WG) at the time of the screening test for Down syndrome were given hygienic information and prospectively tested at 18 WG and at delivery. The control group consisted of high-risk PW enrolled at delivery who were neither tested for nor informed about HCMV during pregnancy. HCMV serology was performed on samples collected at delivery and on samples stored when the screening test for Down syndrome was performed. The primary outcome measure was seroconversion. The calculated sample size was 308 HCMV-seronegative women per arm (alpha 1%, power 80%). Results. So far, 686 PW have been enrolled in the intervention group. At enrollment, 342 were seronegative, 339 seropositive and 5 were diagnosed with an acute/recent primary infection (4 in the first trimester and one to be dated). Of the 342 susceptible women who were informed about hygienic measures, 31 were lost to follow-up, 138 delivered and 173 are still pregnant. So far, 4/311 (1.3%) women seroconverted. In the control group, 536 women were enrolled. Among the 308 seronegative women, 29 seroconverted between 12 WG and delivery (9.4%). When the 4 women diagnosed with a recent infection at 12 WG in the intervention group are included, the rate of HCMV infection among PW who were unaware of HCMV and prevention measures increases to 10.6% (33/312). Completion of the study is expected for October 2014. Conclusions. Presently, providing hygiene information to PW at high risk of primary HCMV infection appears the most effective approach to prevention of congenital infection

Maria Grazia Revello (Primary Presenter), mg.revello@smatteo.pv.it;
Medical virologist at the Virology Service until 2009, now scientist at the Obstetric and Gynecology Clinic, Fondazione IRCCS Policlinico San Matteo, Pavia, Italy,


Financial - No relevant financial relationship exist.

Nonfinancial - No relevant nonfinancial relationship exist.

Giulia Mogavero (Author), giuliamogavero89@yahoo.it ;
Biography not available

Valentina Frisina (Author), valentina.frisina@gmail.com;
biography not available

Milena Furione (Author), m.furione@smatteo.pv.it;
Biography not available

Cecilia Tibaldi (Author), ctibaldi@cittadellasalute.to.it ;
Biography not available

Alessia Arossa (Author), alessia.arossa@yahoo.com;
Biography not available

Giuseppe Gerna (Author), g.gerna@smatteo.pv.it;
Former director of Viral Diagnostic Service, now Scientist at Experimental Research Laboratories, Fondazione IRCCS Policlinico San Matteo, Pavia, Italy

Annalisa Rizzo (Author), rizzones@gmail.com;
Biography not available

Mariam Nazifi (Author), maryam05@libero.it;
Biography not available

Tullia Todros (Author), tullia.todros@unito.it;
Biography not available

Manuela ScatĂ  (Author), manu.scata@gmail.com;
Biography not available

Barbara Bianchi (Author), barbara.bianchi@universitadipavia.it;
Biography not available

Agata Leone (Author), agata.leone@unito.it;
Biography not available

Alessandra Sacchi (Author), asacchi@cittadellasalute.to.it;
Biography not available

Giulia Masuelli (Author), gmasuelli@cittadellasalute.to.it;
Biography not available

Arsenio Spinillo (Author), aspinillo@smatteo.pv.it;
Biography not available

Catherine Klersy (Author), klersy@smatteo.pv.it;
Biography not available

This presentation has not yet been uploaded.

No handouts have been uploaded.

eXTReMe Tracker

The Language of Desire is an online program designed specifically for women who want a highly rewarding solution to turning on a man both sexually and emotionally by use of naughty words and phrases. It teaches them about the psychology of a man's mind and how using dirty language can get their men to desire them, and only them. It is designed for women who want to learn how to talk dirty to their man without necessarily feeling embarrassed or awkward.